Japanese mannequin duo FEMM announce surprise new album, ‘Tokyo Ex Machina’! Video for ’90s revival pop-punk track ‘We Got Each Other’ released too

Musical mannequin duo FEMM are famed for their girls’ anthem ‘Fxxk Boyz Get Money’, which quickly earned them a fan base in the United States, Europe and the rest of the world. Their debut album ‘Femm-Isation’ reached the Top 10 of the Billboard World Albums chart in the US, and was picked as a Best Indie Album at HMV stores across the UK.

Their most recent album ‘Tokyo Girls Anthem’ was released just last month, in December 2021, packed with a wide variety of rap tracks made in collaboration with globally active hip-hop producers such as Boys Noize and Star Boy. Now, FEMM have made the surprise announcement that their third album, ‘Tokyo Ex Machina’, has been released today, Friday, January 21.

The music video for new song ‘We Got Each Other’ was also released today.

We Got Each Other’ music video:

The new album also features a selection of star collaborators from Europe, the US and Asia: Jenna Andrews, who worked on the smash BTS song ‘Butter’; John Ryan, who has worked on many songs with One Direction as well as Maroon 5 and Rita Ora; Doja Cat collaborator Kool Kojak; Danny L Harle, who is a cohort of Charli XCX and Rina Sawayama; and Woo Min Lee, who has worked on several songs for TWICE.

The jacket photo is by Liam Wong, who has been featured on Forbes’ ‘30 Under 30’ list and who previously created the music video and jacket image for FEMM’s single ‘Tic Toc’. The photo, titled ‘Neo Tokyo’, recalls the classic cyberpunk vibes of ‘AKIRA’ and ‘Blade Runner’ and will appeal to fans of concept artist Syd Mead.

The opening track of the album, ‘We Got Each Other’, incorporates the sound of the 1990s punk revival that has been hugely popular this past year in the United States and Europe. The sweet and sour lyrics in which the two singers comfort one another over broken hearts deliver an emotional message, reminiscent of the girls’ rock movement that was prevalent in the ’90s and ’00s. 

Directed by Julie Giesen, the video dares to be girly, and starts with the two members of FEMM touching down in Tokyo’s Shibuya district. As the mannequins are brushed by a wave of animated magic, their appearance transforms into something we have never seen from FEMM before. As they visit an arcade and a bowling alley, the members – who are known for their icy demeanor – actually crack a smile! Are they dreaming, or have we been transported to a world of fantasy?

In the near future, music videos for new album cuts ‘Outta The Clouds’ and ‘Crystal Ball’ will follow, as well as a video for ‘Crawl Away’, the song that reunites FEMM with their ‘Fxxk Boyz Get Money’ producer Pat Lukens, and a video for popular track ‘Falling For A Lullaby’. Look out for each new announcement as it comes.

FEMM have attracted attention from many global media, and their videos have found great acclaim, with Venezuelan musician Arca praising the twisted avatars in a previous video made with Aphex Twin visual collaborator Weirdcore. As the world contends with the ongoing pandemic, FEMM are broadcasting their own 21st-century Japonisme to the globe.

Release information

New album ‘Tokyo Ex Machina’

Tokyo Ex Machina

Download and streaming links: https://avex.lnk.to/TokyoExMachina

Download and streaming links (Europe and the UK): https://jpurecords.com/products/femm-tokyo-ex-machina

* If possible, please use the following photo credit for the album artwork:

©️Liam Wong


01. We Got Each Other (produced by Kool Kojak)

02. Outta The Clouds (produced by Woo Min Lee)

03. Crystal Ball (produced by Danny L Harle)

04. Crawl Away (produced by Pat Lukens)

05. Falling For A Lullaby

06. Do It Again feat. LIZ

07. Sugar Rush

08. Dead Of Night

09. Keep It Cool

10. Tic Toc

– – – – – 

2nd album ‘Tokyo Girls Anthem’ OUT NOW!

Download and streaming links: https://avex.lnk.to/TokyoGirlsAnthem

Download and streaming links (Europe and the UK): https://jpurecords.com/products/femm-tokyo-girls-anthem

FEMM Profile

As a girls’ anthem with a darkly humorous message, mannequin rap duo FEMM’s acclaimed song ‘Fxxk Boyz Get Money’ found an audience with teens and influencers in the United States, quickly spreading around Europe, South America and Asia. FEMM’s debut album ‘Femm-Isation’ brought Japanese female rap to a whole new audience, reaching the Top 10 of Billboard’s World Albums chart in the US.

In Britain, the Huffington Post highlighted FEMM in its ‘6 Acts to Watch in 2016’ list and HMV included the duo in the Best Indie Albums section at its stores across the UK. Through these global activities, FEMM have blazed a trail as acclaimed female rap artists at home and abroad.

FEMM’s love of internet culture made them frontrunners of trends that are now sweeping the world, receiving praise for their reinterpretation of 1980s and ’90s J-pop through a vaporwave filter. In 2020, they released their six-song EP ‘404 Not Found’, whose title refers to the error message that appears when a website cannot be found – alluding to FEMM’s brand-new sound that does not exist anywhere else, no matter how hard you look. With their dark vision and aggressive musicality that rides the forefront of the hyperpop boom, FEMM are attracting attention not only from FEMM fans (known as Agents) but from music fans and media around the world.

Official website: https://femms.jp/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/femm____/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/FEMM____

YouTube: https://bit.ly/2THLXBn

TikTok: https://vt.tiktok.com/ZSJ14XWfX/

share on: